Shopping Discussion

It Is Law That I Have To Tell CBSA Agents My Cellphone & Laptop Password?

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 30th, 2017 2:15 am
Tags:
None
Deal Guru
Dec 7, 2009
13393 posts
1223 upvotes
Exactly, your phone is a portal to other places, not at the border. At what point in history were CBSA agents allowed to know your relationships with friends and family, your political views, your religious beliefs and your medical issues? They should be able to ensure people are not bringing anything dangerous across the border, but given that internal storage is not needed to keep files secure (you can keep them remotely) I don't see why they need to inspect the virtual contents of peoples electronic devices.

Someone could happily agree to unlock their AES encrypted device, and feign growing levels of frustration when their password didn't work. I mean, the stupid thing must be broken. I used to work in tech support, people forget their password all the time.
In a perfect system, corporations would fear the government and the government would fear the people. - David Wong

Check out caRpetbomBer's picks in this thread.
Mar 6, 2015
182 posts
79 upvotes
Quebec, QC
I think it would be reasonable to refuse passwords that allow them to access items that are not actually on your phone. My banking info, my facebook page, my emails are not actually on my phone. They can't search items that I left at home when I cross the border. Of course, that doesn't mean they won't arrest and charge you over the question.
Deal Addict
Jan 4, 2011
4403 posts
568 upvotes
bylo wrote:
Mar 7th, 2015 8:06 am
You realize that this news story is already being discussed for a page or two now.
No, i have other things to do.

Plus i have a law degree and i don't want to soil my brain with all the non-sense discussed here.
Deal Guru
Sep 10, 2009
10900 posts
396 upvotes
GT&A
Shaner wrote:
Mar 7th, 2015 1:09 pm