• Jul 4th, 2012 10:02 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Aug 19, 2007
750 posts
103 upvotes

Is law school worth it?

I'm currently preparing for the October LSAT and hope to enter law school by 2013.

The more I talk to people about law school, the more I hear how difficult it is to land a job. I have an undergraduate BBA degree and hope to compliment it with a JD. For me, money isn't the issue. I want to get as much education out of the way before I grow old and become to committed to a job or relationship.

I wish to attend law school for a couple of reasons. First, I definitely like school. If I could live the rest of my life learning, I would. Second, a law degree looks like it can open up many doors. There are many paths you can undertake once you complete the bar, and it doesn't have to be in the legal field. Lastly, the permanence of the license. Once you own it, you can will be able to practice law until the day you die (unless you get disbarred). There will always be a need for legal work, and even though there is a large influx of JD grads, works will always be available.

On the topic of law schools, how important is it that you study at a tier 1 or tier 2 school?
8 replies
Deal Addict
Aug 9, 2011
1789 posts
241 upvotes
GTA
They go nicely together. So, yes, its worth the investment. It would also open up more doors for yourself as you progress in your career.
Deal Addict
Jan 5, 2006
4867 posts
192 upvotes
Toronto
Well, I think you have the right idea about law school and a law degree which is pretty important. As long as you aren't expecting a J.D. to be a guaranteed doorway to a $100k+ job immediately after graduation, your reasons sound pretty logical to me for attending law school.