Lease ending with unused km question

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 12th, 2019 12:14 pm
[OP]
Sep 20, 2010
244 posts
141 upvotes

Lease ending with unused km question

Hello all, I have a few questions and I'm looking for some advice on my car lease which is ending in July. I have only used 28,000 km of my allowed 80,000 km. Do you typically get any type of refund for the unused kilometers? If so, roughly how much can I expect?

I have the option of buying out the car for $10k. I have a 2015 Mazda 5 (which I have grown quite fond of) and they have stopped making them, so I'd have to switch cars. I'd likely get some variant of the Mazda CX series.

I'm trying to work out what would be the best options, but I'm not sure what type of deal I'd get on a new lease as I've no experience on the matter. How much can I expect to receive towards a new lease? Is there any angle for negotiation there?

What do you suggest? Should I return the car and hope for a fair discount on another Mazda lease or should I just buy out the car for 10k?

Thanks much for any input at all. I'm completely new to this and don't want to fleeced by some greasy salesperson.
17 replies
Deal Guru
Jan 15, 2006
13500 posts
10331 upvotes
Richmond Hill
You get nothing back. The only people that benefit from this is your dealer. No different from renting a home and when you go on vacation you don't get "credit" for not using the place.
Last edited by EP32k2 on Mar 11th, 2019 11:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
Deal Addict
Jan 16, 2011
3778 posts
3269 upvotes
The NORTH
I don't believe you are entitled to any refund because of not using KM's. In your case if you like the vehicle and its only got 28k Km, i'd buy it out.
Jul 21, 2009
822 posts
236 upvotes
Toronto
If you like the car then keep it. The dealer won't give you any refund for unused KM but may give you a loyalty discount on another car. Signing a new lease will always cost more than buying out your old lease.