• Last Updated:
  • Jan 18th, 2018 8:31 pm
[OP]
Dec 23, 2016
47 posts
11 upvotes

Lease vs Finance for the first car

Hi all,

Planning to buy the first car in my life and debating whether I should lease or finance.

Considering SUV : Mazda CX-5, VW Tiguan 2018, or Nissan Rogue 2018 (No CRV or RAV4 on my list)

I have prepared $30k in cash aside for the car and originally thought to buy it in cash (and use HELOC to pay remaining balance)

Problem is I have no driving experience.. have had the license for a decade but never had my own car.

My friends are all saying it would be better to buy a cheap used car or lease a new car just in case I get into any sort of small/big accidents.

I don't like to drive the used car (personal preference..) and would definitely consider leasing if it's a better option.

I don't drive to work (only short drive to GO station, 5 mins away) and mainly for grocery and weekend leisure. I'm single so it's not a family car. (though I have a small dog..)

Would leasing be better option for me as a first car owner?

If leasing, I'm planning to put downpayment of more than 10k (or as much as I can as I already set $30k aside for car purchase)

I would like to reduce the risk of future liability caused by potential accidents so it sounds like a better option.

Of course, it will cost a bit more at the end compared to financing, but I'm not sure if I wanna drive the same car after 5,6 years.

Any suggestion?
Last edited by wcikkk on Dec 27th, 2017 12:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
90 replies
Deal Addict
Jan 8, 2007
2255 posts
747 upvotes
Calgary
If you decide to lease putting any money down is generally not a good idea. The whole point of lease is to get into something with at least up front money as possible. As you said, if you get into an accident you are exposing that 10k to risk. What's nice about a lease is you can give the car back with a huge accident claim on it and not worry about lowered resale value on it.