• Aug 29th, 2014 4:14 am
Tags:
None
[OP]
Apr 22, 2005
450 posts
12 upvotes

Leasing a car: Personal vs Corporation?

I am a consultant with an incorporated company. I drive to client sites frequently. I need to change my car. So my choices are
a. Lease car in personal name, reimburse with mileage
b. Lease car in business name, calculate total expenses and take a % as personal use.

Ofcourse, I have the options to buy in cash or finance it for personal name but keeping those aside.

Two questions:
1. My accountant repeatedly tells me to go with option a. I feel that my driving around on a monthly basis may fluctuate (800 to 1500 km per month) and not be high enough. What am I missing from the picture to understand why my accountant suggests option a?
2. Insurance: If I lease in company name, I understand I need to get commercial insurance. I do have to make the call to my insurance company to understand this but is there a big difference in commercial vs personal insurance? And yes, I am still researching it as well.

Anything else I should be considering here?

Thanks!
:twisted:
12 replies
Deal Addict
Aug 19, 2013
2397 posts
1009 upvotes
shahn2 wrote:
Jul 19th, 2014 3:53 pm
I am a consultant with an incorporated company. I drive to client sites frequently. I need to change my car. So my choices are
a. Lease car in personal name, reimburse with mileage
b. Lease car in business name, calculate total expenses and take a % as personal use.

Ofcourse, I have the options to buy in cash or finance it for personal name but keeping those aside.

Two questions:
1. My accountant repeatedly tells me to go with option a. I feel that my driving around on a monthly basis may fluctuate (800 to 1500 km per month) and not be high enough. What am I missing from the picture to understand why my accountant suggests option a?