Careers

Looking to become a Police Officer...Any tips?

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 7th, 2017 1:10 am
Tags:
[OP]
Dec 11, 2007
974 posts
9 upvotes
Scarborough

Looking to become a Police Officer...Any tips?

So...been interested in policing for a while, looked into it a year ago and they told me I needed to get my eyesight corrected (lasik) in order to start the process...my eyes are horrible lol but anyways Ive taken the decision to get lasik done...will cost me about 5k. Anyone got any tips or suggestions? ive been working in security for the last 2 years trying to get my experience up in the mean time.

Any help is appreciated!

TIF
When I looked up "Ninjas" in Thesaurus.com, it said "Ninja's can't be found" Well played Ninjas, well played.
:facepalm:
46 replies
Deal Addict
Nov 10, 2015
1032 posts
283 upvotes
Monte Creek, BC
A post secondary education in pretty well anything that is law related will help a lot. Police departments want educated officers and pick them ahead of less educated ones.
A second language is also a huge benefit, but you should be proficient in it.
If you are a visible minority, you've got it made. If you are a white male, not so much. Yes, police departments still select on this basis.
[OP]
Dec 11, 2007
974 posts
9 upvotes
Scarborough
poleman wrote:
Nov 14th, 2017 9:48 pm
A post secondary education in pretty well anything that is law related will help a lot. Police departments want educated officers and pick them ahead of less educated ones.
If you are a visible minority, you've got it made. If you are a white male, not so much. Yes, police departments still select on this basis.
Lolol dont have a secondary education in law but I do in graphic design!, Im also pakistani so im a visual minority? And speak more than just English...fluently :) Thanks for the info!
When I looked up "Ninjas" in Thesaurus.com, it said "Ninja's can't be found" Well played Ninjas, well played.
:facepalm:
Aug 14, 2017
1 posts
Hi!