Automotive

Looking to buy pre-owned sedan/hatchback

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 2nd, 2019 1:22 pm
[OP]
Mar 25, 2019
2 posts

Looking to buy pre-owned sedan/hatchback

Hey, I'm a student looking to buy my first car! Can someone recommend some specific brands/models? Appreciate it a ton!!

Budget: below 10K
Use for daily commute and Kitchener <-> Toronto once per week
Not looking to resell any time soon (definitely keeping it > 5 years)
Either sedan or hatchback (I heard hatchback is cheaper, is that right?)
Other concerns include maintenance cost (usually very busy with school, wouldnt want to go through too much trouble for repairs) & insurance cost (I'm 25 with with a G2, so would like to save on insurance as well)
25 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2011
28080 posts
13894 upvotes
Ottawa
First!,,,Corolla.
Deal Addict
Nov 8, 2017
2116 posts
642 upvotes
CherryZ84656 wrote:
Mar 26th, 2019 12:57 pm
Hey, I'm a student looking to buy my first car! Can someone recommend some specific brands/models? Appreciate it a ton!!

Other concerns include maintenance cost (usually very busy with school, wouldnt want to go through too much trouble for repairs) & insurance cost (I'm 25 with with a G2, so would like to save on insurance as well)
Do you know how many potential buyers are all looking for cars under 10k at any time?? Look for a vehicle in best condition that also meets your budget/requirements!!
Deal Addict
Sep 8, 2017
2232 posts
2276 upvotes
GTA
Do you need much space? Either for yourself (tall vs short), or for passengers or cargo? That will help narrow things down.

sub-compact vs compact vs mid-sized
Jun 14, 2008
180 posts
36 upvotes
tdot
Beige Corolla FTW! esp '05 (9-gen version).
Deal Fanatic
Nov 4, 2008
5887 posts
3896 upvotes
Richmond Hill
Buy a cheap corolla and invest the money you save. By the time the Corolla dies, you will have saved enough money to buy a new Lexus.
When given enough time, all threads on RFD can and will go off on a tangent.
Mar 27, 2019
1 posts