Looking for first camera, too many options

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 9th, 2017 12:44 pm
May 5, 2010
813 posts
214 upvotes
djdestroyer wrote:
Oct 30th, 2017 3:24 pm
I have some photo editing experience and don't mind doing it, I just prefer capturing exactly what I see while using the natural light, exposure, aperture, shutter speed, etc. but I still do some touch ups or blending when needed.

Budget is open-ended, I'm trying to get a feel for what kind of camera I even need. I would say I wouldn't spend over $5k as I'm just starting out and it's only a hobby and that would include some lenses and accessories to get me started.
Wow you have $5k of budget to start a hobby? Nice!

If you have that kind of money, then you should consider the X-T2 and like 3-4 lenses that will fill all your needs. You'll have money left for a tripod too.
Trust me that once you have used a good EVF, you'll hate going back to an OVF. That's one big advantage of mirrorless over DSLR, for me anyway (I can't function without a viewfinder).

Or the Sony A7R III but that'll leave you with only 1 lens for your budget.

Yeah, by editing, I meant like adjusting the shadow, highlight, white balance & such. I'll never edit something like adding a sunset lighting effect on a picture taking in the middle of the day.
Deal Fanatic
Jan 27, 2006
6454 posts
1665 upvotes
Vancouver, BC
djdestroyer wrote:
Oct 30th, 2017 3:16 pm
1. I can get over hand feel easily. I've held a few different cameras (big and small) and don't mind either. I'll also be using tri-pod when possible.
2. I have a few friends I could borrow from but other than that, not many photog connections.
3. Weight/size is not an issue.
4. I guess I'm looking for a versatile camera that can do a bunch of things with the switch of a lens. I'll be going on day trips with specific photos in mind so it's not like I'll need everything with me at once but I'll need it all at some point.