Personal Finance

Looking for HELOC - can anybody beat this deal?

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 15th, 2015 2:43 am
Tags:
None
Apr 19, 2007
152 posts
7 upvotes

Looking for HELOC - can anybody beat this deal?

I am applying for a fully secured line of credit for $250K which I want to have available to invest from time to time.

TD Canada Trust prepared to offer the following:

- waive all fees (appraisal and legal)
- must have $50,000 drawn down for 3 consecutive months
- revolving interest rate of prime +.50% (prime is currently 2.84%)

Anybody know where I can better deal? e.g. revolving interest rate at prime?

Many thanks for all advice.
22 replies
Deal Addict
Jul 29, 2001
2014 posts
665 upvotes
Calgary
cdencore wrote: I am applying for a fully secured line of credit for $250K which I want to have available to invest from time to time.

I am no expert, but looks pretty standard to me. I don;t think there is any less than +0.5%, otherwise no money to be made.

I am curious what this means though...

You have to withdraw and pay interest on $50,000 for 3 consecutive months? Interest on $50k is about $200 a month I think.
Deal Fanatic
Jun 29, 2007
6041 posts
2751 upvotes
Vancouver
cdencore wrote: I am applying for a fully secured line of credit for $250K which I want to have available to invest from time to time.

"- must have $50,000 drawn down for 3 consecutive months"

What kind of rule is that?

If you are a good customer with good equity in your property, you should be able to do bank prime.

I have had bank prime HELOC with RBC for at least 5 yrs now. National Bank was offering bank prime on unsecured LOC about 16 months ago to certain professionals (like designated accoutants).

No legal and appraisal fees is good but not exceptional.
Deal Addict
Dec 27, 2013
3731 posts
1526 upvotes
Woodbridge
MafiaHitman wrote: I don;t think there is any less than +0.5%, otherwise no money to be made.
They still make prime.
Aug 20, 2014
226 posts
89 upvotes
Toronto, ON