Careers

Looking to learn SQL and/or VBA for careers in financial analysis. Best place to learn?

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 17th, 2016 8:56 am
Oct 9, 2011
733 posts
765 upvotes
EAST YORK

Looking to learn SQL and/or VBA for careers in financial analysis. Best place to learn?

I currently work in risk management and I'm studying for my CPA. I'm looking to add some supplementary technical knowledge to my repertoire and I've noticed that a lot of risk and financial analysis positions are asking for SQL and VBA knowledge. I would like to start learning, so I have a few questions:
- Where is the best place to learn? Is it better to find a free course online or better to pay to get a certification? Would employers look on that more favourably?
- Are SQL and VBA very different from each other? Or can they be learned concurrently?
- What's the timeline on when I can start being fairly proficient at it? On an average basis, of course, I understand it would differ person to person
11 replies
Deal Addict
Oct 16, 2013
2409 posts
765 upvotes
New Brunswick
Youtube is a best place to start or Udemy. Employers don't care about a VBA certification.
Jul 24, 2015
237 posts
153 upvotes
Don't waste your time on VBA.

SQL is a query language. VB is a programming language. They're not the same.
May 24, 2007
552 posts
213 upvotes
To learn SQL you need to learn relational database basics. I'd suggest you take a course at your local community college to learn the basics of database design and introduction to SQL. From there, you can start learning more about writing more advanced queries efficiently.
Deal Addict
Oct 13, 2005
1396 posts
141 upvotes
Get a local install of SQL Server Express 2016 from Microsoft (it's free).
Then head to MS Virtual Academy and take their courses to learn SQL.

Alternatively, you can get a quick intro to SQL through w3schools.
http://www.w3schools.com/sql/