• Last Updated:
  • Nov 16th, 2017 3:29 pm
[OP]
Nov 16, 2008
73 posts
Brampton

Looking to setup a NAS

I am new to the whole NAS thing and am looking to set one up. I have narrowed it down to the following models below, unless someone suggests another unit that's better. I decided to go a step up from the entry models for future proofing.

I am looking for advice on which model to go with, keeping in mind reliability and price.

Western Digital My Cloud PR2100
SYNOLOGY DS218+
SYNOLOGY DS218

Thanks
36 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 2, 2004
25391 posts
2750 upvotes
East Gwillimbury
I always suggest building your own. But if you have to go with a prebuilt, get the Synology

Whatever you do, don’t buy the 218. You need more than 2 bays. The minimum should be 4 bays
Deal Addict
Aug 4, 2008
2421 posts
490 upvotes
Toronto
sm30 wrote:
Nov 13th, 2017 7:23 pm
I am new to the whole NAS thing and am looking to set one up. I have narrowed it down to the following models below, unless someone suggests another unit that's better. I decided to go a step up from the entry models for future proofing.

I am looking for advice on which model to go with, keeping in mind reliability and price.

Western Digital My Cloud PR2100
SYNOLOGY DS218+
SYNOLOGY DS218

Thanks
What's the purpose?

Just to hold locally shared files? Plex? Details would help.
Deal Addict
Nov 18, 2005
4371 posts
773 upvotes
Kitchener
What do you want it to do? Run apps like Plex and itunes or just be a file server? I have a DS213j and it's too slow for most apps, but it's been a great file server. I have a USB drive connected to it that it automatically backs up everything every couple of days. If you want more than a file server the DS218+ is the one to buy
[OP]
Nov 16, 2008
73 posts
Brampton
Gee wrote:
Nov 13th, 2017 7:32 pm
I always suggest building your own. But if you have to go with a prebuilt, get the Synology

Whatever you do, don’t buy the 218. You need more than 2 bays. The minimum should be 4 bays