Hello Everyone,

Thank you!
31 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 14, 2007
3105 posts
1530 upvotes
eric91 wrote: Hello Everyone,

A lot of you seem very knowledgable in terms of finances so thought id explain my situation here and see what you all think. I thank you in advance for any of your responses. Long story short, I am a student with a $30000 student loan (which is in interest-free status for a few more years as i am still a student). I have about $65000 in my bank which i saved up through working various jobs. Using that money, i have maxed out my TD TFSA. However the money is just sitting there with no current investment. Currently i live with my parents who are considered low income earners and don't make a lot of money.

Now my question to you guys is what should i do with the money i have. I was thinking of partnering with my sister (who also has about 65000 in the bank, again just sitting there) to put a down payment (130K together) on a house to move into since interest rates seem to be a bit lower right now. My parents will help pitch in whatever they can for the monthly mortgage payment and my sister and I will take care of the rest of the payment by working part time throughout school. What do you guys think about that? If thats not a good idea i want to invest my money somehow instead of it just sitting around. Only problem is i don't know much about investing so if you guys can help lead me in the right direction i'd greatly appreciate it. In terms of risks, I'm willing to take some risk but not a whole lot. Would prefer something with a relatively low risk profile. However for now please give me ANY thoughts and how you would approach this situation if you were in my shoes.

Thank you!