Personal Finance

Lower refund if earning over a certain amount (as a student?)

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 27th, 2010 1:05 am
Tags:
None
[OP]
Dec 16, 2006
362 posts
8 upvotes

Lower refund if earning over a certain amount (as a student?)

I started to punch in my numbers through UFile yesterday, and my refund is half of what I expected it to be (I was forecasting based on last year's refund). The only difference between this year and last is that I earned less than $35k last year, but more than $35k this year. Is $35k some sort of threshold, or did I just miscalculate?

I am a full-time student, so I'm claiming my tuition. I don't know if I have any carryover from 2008 (Quicktax was down last night), but I'm not sure if that's going to make much of a difference.

I guess my main question is that even though I'm a full time student, does earning more than $35k put me into a higher tax bracket where I'd be getting less of a refund, or does it not matter if I'm a F/T student, and I just miscalculated and/or left out something?

Thanks in advance.
8 replies
Oct 8, 2008
718 posts
68 upvotes
Nothing to do with being a student (unless you have less tutition credits available this year than last year, which is possible). Assuming your in Ontario, you go into a higher tax bracket at $36,848, and then again at $40,726.

Here are the tax brackets and rates: http://www.taxtips.ca/taxrates/on.htm

So yes I would say that some of your income is being taxed at a higher rate now. Technically, having a large refund can be a bad thing because it means that you gave the government an interest-free loan for the year, so a smaller refund is a sign that you held on to more of your own cash.+
[OP]
Dec 16, 2006
362 posts
8 upvotes