Home & Garden

[2024 CODE UPDATE] Ask me anything about home electrical requirements, electrical code, wiring, devices

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 26th, 2024 3:58 pm
Tags:
None
Deal Expert
Oct 26, 2003
39343 posts
6342 upvotes
Winnipeg

[2024 CODE UPDATE] Ask me anything about home electrical requirements, electrical code, wiring, devices

Saw few post asking about the Canadian Electrical Code, it seems people like to give complicated and confusing answers. I'm an electrical engineer and I do this for a living, feel free to ask me about code related issues, wiring types, installation, devices, etc. I'm specialized in commercial and institutional design but I do residential occasionally.

Canadian Electrical Code 2024 effective date unconfirmed
Alberta April 1, 2025
Saskatchewan 2025
Winnipeg January 1, 2025
Manitoba 2026
Ontario May 2025

Canadian Electrical Code 2021 effective date
Alberta 2021
Saskatchewan 2021
Winnipeg July 1, 2022

Canadian Electrical Code 2018 effective date
Manitoba

National Building Code 2020 effective date
British Columbia (BCBC 2024) Mar 8, 2024
Alberta (NBC AE 23) May 1, 2024
Saskatchewan January 1, 2024
Manitoba (MBC 2024) January 1, 2024

National Building Code 2015 effective date
Quebec (CCQ) July 1, 2023
Nova Scotia (NSBC) October 1, 2022
PEI July 29, 2023
Newfoundland & Labrador 2018
Yukon unknown date
North West Territories Oct 1, 2017
Nunavut September 6, 2018

National Building Code 2010 effective date
Ontario (OBC 2012) unknown date
New Brunswick (BCAA) March 17, 2020

Manitoba Electrical Code 2018 Effective in Manitoba except for Winnipeg
NECB 2020
LEED v4.1
Ontario Electrical Code 2015
Ontario Building Code 2015
Toronto Green Standards
Lighting Design & Simulation
Power Distribution 120/208/277/347/600/13.8kV single and 3 phase
Fire Alarm
Security
Communication/Data, Cat6/A, Fiber single/multi-mode OS1/OS2/OM4, 802.11AC, 802.11AX, PoE++, PoH
Ashrae 90.1-2020
Solar & EV