• Last Updated:
  • Mar 17th, 2017 8:36 pm
[OP]
Nov 26, 2016
36 posts
2 upvotes

Medical School acceptance rate

Hi,

I graduated with a B.Sc in Biochemistry. Got a B+ cGPA. Is it out of the question to apply to medical school? Anyone have an idea of what % of applicants actually get in? I've heard it's extremely difficult.

Thanks
21 replies
Deal Guru
Oct 3, 2006
10180 posts
610 upvotes
Toronto
There's a bunch of people with As with good MCATs that don't get in. Your chances are not zero, but it's next to none.
Jun 15, 2012
709 posts
48 upvotes
MB
Honestly I don't get this. Paucity of medical doctors and very few places offered in medical schools.
For instance university of Saskatchewan 800 applications but only 100 placements available annually.
Simply double or triple educational quotas.

I would say make sure you have high mcat and apply.
"I will tell you how to become rich. Close the doors. Be fearful when others are greedy. Be greedy when others are fearful."
- Warren Buffett
Deal Addict
Jan 21, 2014
1889 posts
434 upvotes
It's not just MCAT. Some school doesn't look at MCAT, some just looks at one component of the whole test, some just uses MCAT scores as markers. You need GPA, ECs (TA, volunteers, researches, publishing), MCAT/CASPER, application essays, good reference letters and ultimately lots of luck. Med school is something you need to prepare when you started undergrad - the right program or right school, building up your ECs, protecting your GPA (3.90 or higher will give you better chance). Once you get all that and manage to get an interview, then your chances will be higher, ~40% on getting acceptance. Applying is also expensive so don't waste money if you don't think you have a chance. Sometime, people would do a Master degree to improve GPA & chances. You also need a backup plan in the event you can't get into Med (e.g. Dentistry, pharmacist, etc) as I heard the BofSc is pretty useless by itself
Deal Addict
Jun 8, 2008
3465 posts
954 upvotes