• Last Updated:
  • Apr 5th, 2017 4:11 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
May 2, 2005
81 posts

Mega smart TV box

Seen it at the CNE today. Says you can get pretty much anything. Showed me the live Jay game, movies, TV shows and its episode listings, international channels....pretty much everything. $300. One time fee. Just olugbit in and watch TV.
Now I'm totally new to this stuff, so pardon me as I don't understand these things too much. Not a techie. What's the difference between this and the mega26# TV boxes, which are under $150. And subscriptions to an iptv provider?
Is this box a scam?
20 replies
Deal Addict
Jul 28, 2014
1216 posts
105 upvotes
Toronto, ON
Last year I saw a vendor showing off Kodi, didn't get a chance to get a closer look though, I am assuming this might be the same vendor?

Don't know about these Mega brands, but looking at their site, it is basically a box that runs Kodi. $300 one time fee, but no mention of any kind of specs for the box which is generally the first thing you want to look for when deciding on which box. Fee includes a IPTV Sub, for life? Interesting, never heard of this Mega IPTV. They also suggest the best addon is Genesis, which seems to have issues these days. I am sure they are somewhat legit, especially if they have a booth at CNE, but definitely some questions. You can certainly get Kodi/IPTV, for well under $300.
Feb 21, 2012
239 posts
167 upvotes
Gananoque, ON
It's a software called Kodi with third party addons installed to get all this free content. It's not hard to set up and just about any Android TV Box or computer can run it. $300 is extremely over priced when you can get decent android boxes nowadays for under $100.
Deal Addict
Jan 12, 2005
4079 posts
454 upvotes
Scarborough