Thread: Memory Stick Pro Duo (BEWARE OF FAKES - READ if u plan to buy a mspd)
-
Nov 29th, 2005 04:53 PM
#61
about 1 month ago I had the same issue with an ebay purchased sony branded memory stick. The deal was a bargain but what we found out shortly was that the batch was all *bad*. After about 3 weeks waiting for another batch I was just given a refund on my paypal account.
During that whole time I compared the duo cards sold on ebay (mostly hk sellers) to the ones sold locally at a b&m store and I already had a suspicion that there's fake ones floating around passing off as genuine due to the price difference.
I recall a long while back when pc ram was insanely expensive that there was factories in china producing ram that passes bio check but don't work. this is probably no different. =)
best of luck to those that have these unstable ones.
-
Nov 29th, 2005 06:29 PM
#62

Originally Posted by
andyyuen
can u post the coupon code plez?
haha i am gonna attempt to call DELL.CA and see if they have it or will price match it
http://www1.us.dell.com/content/topi...=dhs&~lt=popup
-
Nov 29th, 2005 11:00 PM
#63
Offer excludes:
SanDisk 256MB & 512MB Cruzer Micro USB Flash Drive
SanDisk 2 GB Memory Stick PRO Duo Card

well u can compare the packages of the fake and real on ebay.. to be honest.. i don't even see a genuine package on any of the auctions.. if they posted the package or not is another story
and even if.., don't you think they can post a package of a real card and send u a fake one?? what guarantees u get from just the picture.. which is the same as word of mouth of them telling you it is real??
so.. it is up for you to decide whether you want to risk it or not.. maybe u are lucky to get yours as real.. but most people don't have that luck
and if u compare just the package details.. almost ALL the 2gbs on ebay are fake.. see for yourself before you start bashing me that it is my own opinion
-
Nov 29th, 2005 11:06 PM
#64

Originally Posted by
andyyuen
Offer excludes:
SanDisk 256MB & 512MB Cruzer Micro USB Flash Drive
SanDisk 2 GB Memory Stick PRO Duo Card
Sorry, I didn't notice it's excludes......
My fault.
-
Nov 29th, 2005 11:59 PM
#65

Originally Posted by
MMMMMike
It was a 1Gb, $85Cnd after 10% discound and shipping.
This guy
Mike
Any comment on this type of Sandisk card anyone? Item number: 7567561964 or http://cgi.ebay.ca/SanDisk-1GB-Memor...QQcmdZViewItem
Its the 1gb from HK or Australia.
-
Nov 30th, 2005 01:40 AM
#66
-
Nov 30th, 2005 01:48 AM
#67
I JUST bought a 2gb sony memory stick high speed pro duo last night off ebay and was happy for the bargain that it was. then i came upon this thread. i immediately emailed the guy and told him to stop the transaction and refund me thru paypal. frankly, i didnt think he would but he did in the end. i just think that should share what he told me with you guys...
"ok
if you don't need it any more
i will refund your money
the fact is real 2GB sony MS will not under $300
and you will not able to find any real sony MS on ebay
even from US, UK seller, they all sell China Version
thats the truth
good luck
bye"
this guy was pretty honest i guess...
so guys, if u are looking for real stuff.. please be aware of fakes on ebay.......
i only lost 10$ due to the currency exchange overnight (thats a lot of change of in one night.. how much did the US$ drop overnight?!)
-
Nov 30th, 2005 02:07 AM
#68
[QUOTE=RedLightning]Gah, now you guys have gotten me all paranoid/worried.
I bought this locally in Toronto a few weeks ago. It came in Japanese packaging like so:
well redlighting.. from the package .. it looks real...
the text is suppose to be more faint in the real than the fake.. BUT.. it is not flat on the plastic.. it is carved in... so.. if it is bumpy.. it should be real..
my fake one... the 1gb entirely rubbed off.. LOL
and the back "made in japan" was entirely nonexistant after 2 days
-
Nov 30th, 2005 02:11 AM
#69
for those of you who is still following this post
if they want to sell you a fake in the first place...
what makes you think they won't photograph a real mem package.. and send u a fake one?? and send u the real one they photographed??
all the US, Canada, Austrialia, UK sellers are all from HK.. all send from HK or china...
not trying to be racist..cuz i am chinese myself and i came from HK... a lot of those ppl are all in for the money.. i don't trust them...
if it is too good to be true... then maybe it is not...
why bother paying half price or 2/3 of the price for a fake card.. wound up dead unusable and have to pay for another one when u can just pay 1/3 more to have one that lasts many years?
so it is the risk you take... and u choose that...
-
Nov 30th, 2005 02:17 AM
#70
but Redlighting
your package seems perfect enough.. but the text seems to be all gone.. i don't know how often u touch that area.. but if the text is not carved in.. and even the printed text is rubbed off.. then it is a fake..
as u compared yours with the 32mb sony.. i don't even see text on your middle one...
i am not trying to freak u out, BUT
*note* as the chinese article mentioned, these ppl have already been developing a perfectly identical package, so even if the package is "real" or seems "real" the card inside might not...
so... u can only check it out yourself.. i don't know what to tell u...
-
Nov 30th, 2005 02:28 AM
#71

Originally Posted by
andyyuen
for those of you who is still following this post
if they want to sell you a fake in the first place...
what makes you think they won't photograph a real mem package.. and send u a fake one?? and send u the real one they photographed??
all the US, Canada, Austrialia, UK sellers are all from HK.. all send from HK or china...
not trying to be racist..cuz i am chinese myself and i came from HK... a lot of those ppl are all in for the money.. i don't trust them...
if it is too good to be true... then maybe it is not...
why bother paying half price or 2/3 of the price for a fake card.. wound up dead unusable and have to pay for another one when u can just pay 1/3 more to have one that lasts many years?
so it is the risk you take... and u choose that...
yes, their location stated does not always indicate their actual location. chinese/hk sellers often put canada/uk/usa as their location so you think it is fairly local. if the seller says they are in canada and shipping in canada is more than shipping in the states, they are bsing you
_______________
----------------------
References:
My HoFo, eBay, HeaT & RFD Feedback! 100% POSITIVE!
Available upon request.

Originally Posted by
Rehan
All of you shut your mouths and leave the OP alone.
-
Nov 30th, 2005 03:45 AM
#72
Nice work on this, all of you guys. I hope that this will teach people a vital lesson, if it sounds to good to be true, it is!
The "deal seekers" is a polite word for what they really are, will always get worked over by scams. People use your comman sense when dealing with E-Bay and the likes, just like one guy said here in his post. "they are in it for the money"
-
Nov 30th, 2005 03:48 AM
#73
Jr. Member

If you are really concerned about getting a fake, buy a real one, and return it with the one you got from ebay inside the pack..
Therefore you will forsure have a real one.
-
Nov 30th, 2005 04:09 AM
#74

Originally Posted by
r0underz
If you are really concerned about getting a fake, buy a real one, and return it with the one you got from ebay inside the pack..
Therefore you will forsure have a real one.
rofl thats not a bad idea :P but whats the refund policy @ sonystore?
Btw Ive just confirmed it I emailed previous buyers of the common sellers on ebay and I have confirmed that bestplace4you is selling fakes im just waiting for emails from the others ... another user said that he believes it to be fake but it works and there is no problems there... so he dosnt mind as longas it works so I guess as longas it works its ok.
Last edited by akz; Nov 30th, 2005 at 04:19 AM.
_______________
HoFo Feedback (
29)
eBay (
47)
Heatware (
25)
-
Nov 30th, 2005 04:34 AM
#75
I don't get the people behind this.
They basically have the technology to copy it already. Since it works for at least two days. It means they must be steps away from making it perfect. Why don't they just do it.
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules