Group Deal Discussion

[Merged] The Butchers AKA Marlon Meats Organic Meat - Feedback/Discussion

Feb 1, 2012
5 posts
1 upvote
TORONTO
I just thought i would start this thread to let you know what happened as i did get all my money back from buytopia. In december they gave me the royal run around. They offered to give me a credit for the 100 dollars i spent. i told them to forget it. I spoke to a manager named peter. they told me to speak to marlon. i spoke to marlon and they promised to give me my money back. they were totally full of it as they claimed they needed their accountant to send the cheque as they did not like to keep cash in the store and it would be in janaury.
in january the did not return calls and e-mails and they were now refusing even to honour the coupons.
i spoke to peter and told him i would just would sue them if they did not give me my money back. he told me they were going to sue marlon. i told him i did not care and i would sue them. (i am a lawyer).
he then told me they actually had just scheduled a meeting with marlon for that friday. when i persisted he agreed that if marlon did not agree to give me money back by friday he would make a special exception and refund my money.
i confirmed this in an e-mail to him.
i guess the meeting with marlon did not go well as when i next spoke to peter he agreed to refund my money.
that process took a little while as he claimed they did not have money in their paypal account or something.
last week they did refund my money.

here are a few tips.

1. be persistent. they are all very good at buytopia at giving you the runaround. don't accept their excuses.
2. demand to speak to peter the manager. you will get a whole song and dance about what it is about etc. etc.
3. threaten to sue them and do sue them in small claims court if you do not get your money back.
4. remind them you made a deal with them and not the butcher or merlin.
Deal Fanatic
Mar 9, 2007
9455 posts
3850 upvotes
Toronto