Automotive

Dash Camera Discussion & Recommendations

Aug 11, 2014
106 posts
67 upvotes
Brampton, ON
I am looking for a new dashcam as well, my VIOFO A119S V2 just died on me. I have been using it for almost 2 years without any issues however 3 days ago it froze on me with the half green half black static screen. Reddit is filled with similar issues with Viofo A119s, the firmware update worked for some while it didn't for others.
https://www.reddit.com/r/Dashcam/commen ... ntial_fix/

I tried all the solutions above but nothing worked so I submitted a ticket and currently waiting for Viofo support to get respond however I am out of warranty.
I also noticed that Viofo is pushing the A129 now but I kind of lost confidence as to how long it will last.
Any proven alternative dashcam and retailers?
Deal Addict
Jul 29, 2001
2014 posts
665 upvotes
Calgary
I was torn between the A129 Dou and the A129 Duo Pro, but after looking for reviews on both, I stumbled onto a brand new, not really released yet A129 Plus Duo.

Seems to be the prefect mix (2K) between A129 Duo (HD), A129 Pro Duo (4K), built on the A119 v3 chipset (so firmware will be mature).

It can be bought right now on Viofo website for about $200CDN after the coupon ( AUG15OFF ) that I saw on the product page.

https://www.viofo.com/en/home/197-152-a ... e-included
Review and unboxing:

Sample (Beta firmware)

I bought last night, and already shipped so 3 weeks or so away.

For $200 CDN I think this was my best option...

Deal Addict
Sep 8, 2017
4695 posts
4968 upvotes
GTA
Nice find! Seems like a no-brainer for only $10 more than the original A129.
Jan 7, 2015
657 posts
535 upvotes
GVR
MafiaHitman wrote: I bought last night, and already shipped so 3 weeks or so away.

Great suggestion! Had no idea they are going to release this model. I was on the fence between the A129 Pro vs A129 (1080p) so this new Plus Duo is fantastic and right in the middle.