Beauty & Wellness

[Merged] laser eye surgery

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 21st, 2017 5:38 pm

Poll: Mid twenties a good age to get it done?

• Total votes: 180. You have voted on this poll.
Yes

52%
No

14%
Pizza is yummy

34%
Aug 24, 2013
29 posts
2 upvotes
Ajax
Hello guys, I am in my early twenties. Would you recommend getting lasik and what might the total costs be? I am a student so I am not even sure if it will be worth it..Thank you for any answers!
Oct 6, 2015
600 posts
286 upvotes
Hellzone wrote:
Apr 18th, 2017 9:48 pm
Hello guys, I am in my early twenties. Would you recommend getting lasik and what might the total costs be? I am a student so I am not even sure if it will be worth it..Thank you for any answers!
A pre-requisite to undergoing LASIK, PRK, etc., is that of refractive stability. If your prescription is still changing every year or two, you probably shouldn't get the surgery until you are stable.

Costs can range from $2000 (ie: one of the Vancouver high-volume centers with a referral, affinity program, or coupon) all the way up to $5500-$6000 (premium Toronto clinic, high prescription). Plus travel if necessary.

If you're truly stable, and otherwise eligible, a LASIK/PRK procedure can save you lots on glasses, contact lenses, and even opportunity costs associated with the time you'd spend taking care of these things. However, economics really isn't a good argument to have LASIK/PRK. Its an irreversible, potentially major life altering procedure.

Personally I would never recommend anybody undergo LASIK these days, as I prefer PRK, especially with the latest/newest technology. LASIK is an archaic and outdated procedure, an earlier attempt at solving the problems of PRK (ie: pain, slower visual recovery, haze) that no longer exist with the latest PRK procedure optimizations that are now available. Not only is LASIK a more difficult procedure to perform, but has many more complications both short and long-term, and actually costs more.
Jan 30, 2017