Parenting & Family

[Merged] Recommendations for MONTESSORI SCHOOLS in the GTA & surrounding areas

Aug 21, 2005
334 posts
Toronto
ellessea wrote:
Jul 28th, 2009 12:23 pm
I have been a Montessori Teacher in the Markham area for 10 years. I have a University degree -some teachers don't. Some schools hire ECEs as assistants, some don't. If these things are important to you, ask for specifics before you register your child.

Before you pick a school for your child, make sure you talk to parents who have children at the school. "Word of Mouth" is the best form of advertising. Of course, you'll come across differing opinions but it will give you a better sense of what to expect.

Just because a school is part of CCMA does not mean that they are a good school. It just means that they are paying CCMA to be a recognized school on their list.

Be sure to compare a few schools so you can make a more informed decision.

I hope this helps!
Since you have been in the industry and in Markham, would you mind sharing some behind the scenes insight as to which Montessori schools you recommend and which ones you don't
Deal Addict
Jul 3, 2001
1356 posts
46 upvotes
I just enrolled my 3yr old at RHMS for this Sept. I will definitely be posting my opinions here.

Schools that I looked at:

TMS - prestigious, but very pricey. $3K sign up fee.

Royal Cachet - Still a bit new and some bad parent reviews.

Century - Friendly atmosphere for the kids, but was too far for us.
Jul 27, 2009
8 posts
2 upvotes
shmoo2 wrote:
Jul 28th, 2009 2:28 pm
Since you have been in the industry and in Markham, would you mind sharing some behind the scenes insight as to which Montessori schools you recommend and which ones you don't
I haven't worked at all the schools in Markham so I wouldn't be able to give a fair say about which ones I do/don't recommend.

Also, I can't say which schools I recommend because everyone has differing opinions about what is important for their child.