• Last Updated:
  • Jan 28th, 2013 3:28 am
Tags:
None
Deal Addict
Aug 1, 2005
1744 posts
77 upvotes
I am thinking signing up to acanac. I need to buy a phone adapter router.

Their website has a link to a “Cisco SPA-2102 phone adapter with router” for about $70+tax.

I need a new wireless router, and will be going to Staples today.. is a “phone adapter” something that I can get from there too that will be cheaper/ just as effective?

I am new to voip stuff….I assume any phone adapter can be used with any Voip provider?
Deal Fanatic
Feb 21, 2006
5148 posts
98 upvotes
mcewen wrote:
Dec 31st, 2010 2:41 pm
I need a new wireless router, and will be going to Staples today.. is a “phone adapter” something that I can get from there too that will be cheaper/ just as effective?
I don't think Staples carries ATAs (Analog Telephone Adapters). Computer retailers like NCIX are probably the cheapest source. Most people buy either the Cisco/Linksys SPA2102 or the PAP2T (http://ncix.com/products/?sku=21847&vpn ... ture=CISCO). The main difference is that the 2102 includes a "pass-through" router and hooks up directly to your modem to ensure that it can give the telephone voice traffic top priority, while the PAP2T doesn't have a router, and hooks up to your existing router (in which case it's best if your router has QoS capability to give priority to the ATA traffic).
Deal Addict
Aug 1, 2005
1744 posts
77 upvotes
ok.. I just got back from staples.. picked up the Dlink rangebooster duel band DIR 628.
I was speaking to the company that sells the SPA2102, who said that particular model of ATA doesn't replace my need for a router.

is this true - because the previous message indicates that it is a router.... so if so.. why do I require the dlink (other than for wireless capability?)....

thanks..
Deal Fanatic
Feb 21, 2006
5148 posts
98 upvotes
mcewen wrote:
Dec 31st, 2010 4:02 pm