Home & Garden

More Weeds than grass, What to do?

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 12th, 2017 10:21 am
Deal Addict
Apr 1, 2001
4460 posts
185 upvotes
I'm no expert... but looks like a lot of thatch.
I'm going to take a guess that repairing this lawn will take:
- remove thatch
- aerate soil
- may need to apply lime
- then the usual seeding, adding soil, starter fertilizer, and ensuring it stays moist daily until germination.
Mar 29, 2011
954 posts
369 upvotes
The 6ix
I'm in the process of building a retaining wall. I want to use the current weed filled lawn as fill for the retaining wall. What can I do to prevent weeds from sprouting up?
Deal Fanatic
Jan 27, 2006
6138 posts
1518 upvotes
Vancouver, BC
vr_nguyen wrote:
Apr 14th, 2017 1:11 am
I'm in the process of building a retaining wall. I want to use the current weed filled lawn as fill for the retaining wall. What can I do to prevent weeds from sprouting up?
How deep is the fill going to be below the surface? If it's 4 to 6 inches, you shouldn't have to do anything. After all, once you put a layer of course stones, sand, and then soil, there's not much that will be able to go through all of that. And if you really want to be sure, put a layer of landscaping cloth between it the surface.
Sep 11, 2006
892 posts
129 upvotes
I had a few bird feeders out last year and although the birds were happy and well fed, my lawn was completely decimated due to feeding them.
Can I aerate this and reseed? Or do I have to re-sod? What is involved in a total re-sod?
Images
  • IMG_1298.JPG
  • IMG_1299.JPG
  • IMG_1301.JPG
Apr 13, 2017
7 posts
2 upvotes
Hello RFD,

First time homeowner. Didnt water my lawn last year during peak summer. Half of my lawn has dead grass.

What are my options to fix this lawn?

Is installing fresh sod my only option?

Or Can I remove the dead grass, put fresh soil, seed and water it regularly?

Thank you !

Deal Fanatic
Sep 16, 2004
6615 posts
664 upvotes
Toronto