Students

is my school able to take my phone, with the weird contract we signed?

[OP]
Jan 9, 2018
1 posts

is my school able to take my phone, with the weird contract we signed?

Im in my second year of high school and i've never had my phone taken away. My grandfather was a lawyer and he always told me to read the paper Im signing. In one of my classes the teacher got sick and we have a sub for a few weeks and the school made my class sign a contract that said they could take our phones at times we are not allowed to be on them i understand this rule its to help us. It also says they are not responsible for the care of our phones, i kept reading and noticed it said "By signing this contract you are giving the West Tyler High School/Tyler School District to take up your phone and that you will be respectful to your teacher/substitute. The funny thing is i go to an in tearily different school on the other side of the state. Are they still able to take my phone up. and my school has a rule if you get your phone taken away twice the school takes your phone keeps it in the school and make your parents come up to the school and pay $35 to get it back once i leave school and they don't give it back isn't that theft?
7 replies
Deal Fanatic
Mar 23, 2008
7086 posts
4052 upvotes
Edmonton
First off, are you 18? You can check your local jurisdiction whether any contract signed by a minor is valid.

Second, why sign anything? What's the impact if you don't sign?

Third, stop trying to be a special snowflake. Put your phone in your bag or in your pocket and leave it there. Then you have no issues whether you sign or don't sign. Getting into a legal p1ssing match over whether "Tyler School District" has authority to take your phone or not is entirely avoidable.

C
Deal Addict
May 18, 2009
4561 posts
743 upvotes
Toronto
a contract with illegal clauses will not hold up in court even if you signed it
Deal Addict
Aug 13, 2007
4222 posts
556 upvotes