• Aug 2nd, 2012 4:19 pm
Tags:
None
Deal Expert
May 10, 2005
36997 posts
11419 upvotes
Ottawa
packardbell wrote: Kind of contradicting yourself since VW is using lifetime fluid? no? :)
Not at all.
A "service" is considerably more than a mere fluid check. It can be as little as topping up fluid to as much as filter replacements or linkage adjustment or replacement of any worn parts but, as a competent DIYer, you knew that, right?
“Those people who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do.”
Deal Expert
May 8, 2005
31836 posts
1354 upvotes
Pete_Coach wrote: Not at all.
A "service" is considerably more than a mere fluid check. It can be as little as topping up fluid to as much as filter replacements or linkage adjustment or replacement of any worn parts but, as a competent DIYer, you knew that, right?
Actually, he's more than a DIYer, packardbell is a former professional mechanic......

[INDENT]
packardbell wrote: I am a retired professional mechanic now but still do repairs for myself and immediate family members on my free weekends
[/INDENT]

can-i-say-pretty-productive-day-me-1055 ... st13103614
" The placebo effect is the most powerful supplement of all "
" The pain of discipline weighs ounces, the pain of neglect weighs tons "
" The best training in the world can't overcome a lousy diet "
TRAIN HARD !!!!
Deal Addict
May 2, 2010
1646 posts
167 upvotes
Toronto
PPiL wrote: Manual
are you sure it's not the clutch problem? Manual trannies rarely give up like that and doesn't require fluid changes like automatics do.
Banned
Sep 22, 2008
8322 posts
548 upvotes
Pete_Coach wrote: Not at all.