Ongoing Deal Discussion

NAS Superthread (current deals on NAS devices)

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 11th, 2019 11:42 am
Nov 1, 2004
766 posts
26 upvotes
I'm a newbie on NAS set up. Just a quick question on 4-bay RAID device (aka QNAP TS-421).

If I buy this device and set up at RAID 5. Can I use only 2 * 4TB harddrives at the beginning and then add additional hard-drives slowly as my budget allow? Does QNAP automatically expand the storage space when I add additional harddrive?
Jun 18, 2008
336 posts
102 upvotes
Calgary
RAID 5 with only two drives is nonsensical. You need 3 at minimum. Yes, QNAP does support expansion by additional drive.
Aug 30, 2006
409 posts
171 upvotes
AnubisReturns wrote:
Dec 25th, 2013 1:20 pm
Ya it's not on their site and flyer say retail only, I'll swing by TD on boxing day to see if it's there.
Price confirmed $120, picked up one across from sherway gardens location, they were hidden in the back room. There should by one left at the time of this posting.
Deal Addict
Feb 12, 2004
4059 posts
157 upvotes
Etobicoke
Nealester wrote:
Dec 16th, 2013 7:32 pm
I just dived into the NAS world. Picked up
http://www.directcanada.com/products/?sk
u=24840NW9348&vpn=N2310&manufacture=THECUS%20TECH

Does anyone have any experience with this NAS?
Since there were no even decent 2-bay NAS deals ($120 Q-Nap in-store only at TD and $70 Shuttle at NCIX), I bought this Thecus and 2TB WD Red from DC too.
Jun 20, 2005
200 posts
15 upvotes
London
So I ended up buying the thecus n2310. The setup took around around 30 minutes. Set up a 3tb debate. Its a bit of pain to set up the folders through the provided app.

Samba ended up being awful. Dealt with really slow speeds and constant connection drops. It was unusable. I'm in the process of returning it now.
Deal Addict
Feb 12, 2004
4059 posts
157 upvotes
Etobicoke
Nealester wrote:
Dec 26th, 2013 10:38 pm