Home & Garden

national home services water heater - cannot cancel the contract until 5 years gone?

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 12th, 2016 3:58 am
Tags:
Jul 14, 2008
574 posts
57 upvotes
aquariaguy wrote: Little worried after reading this. My new house will be finished in a few months. How do I know what water heater I have and what company I'll be using ?
Ask whatever company to remove the tank prior to moving in, problem solved.

Or read your contract
Dec 24, 2007
60 posts
19 upvotes
Toronto
Do not rent period!!!
It is a $1000 investment. In 30 years of ownership I never rented until the rental property I purchased came with one.
Take the small to minimal risk, if something goes wrong pay the repair fee and move on. It's a water heater very simple.
The other thing to know your builder is getting a kick back from the water heater company that he is working with which you will eventually assume.

I'm a builder and when a customer requests a rental unit, I get $150 kick back from most water heater companies.

good luck
Deal Addict
Oct 18, 2003
1564 posts
146 upvotes
Hi, i am hoping for some guidance with your experience in canceling the national home services water tank rental. The CSR told me that early termination fee of $140 + $65 for picking up the tank. They did not say anything about paying the additional costs or buying out so I am still confused so what other costs you had to pay
Deal Addict
Oct 29, 2010
4475 posts
811 upvotes
I rent a water tank and i've never seen NHS come of their own free will to maintain the tank. They do come promptly if there is a problem and don't charge anything for it though.

And OP, you asked why they only rent the water tank and not the AC/furnace. Sorry to tell you but some of the new developments also rent those too. I was looking at an assignment sale of a new build about a month ago and the owner was paying $70+tax for water tank/AC/furnace.
Deal Addict
Sep 5, 2003
1771 posts
372 upvotes
Toronto