Careers

Need advice in switching my career to the Tech field.

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 21st, 2018 7:04 am
[OP]
Aug 9, 2018
7 posts
Toronto, ON

Need advice in switching my career to the Tech field.

I'm looking into switching my career into the tech industry... I've always been a computer nerd, building my own gaming PC's and programming basic games when I was young.

Unfortunately I don't have any actual experience in the field, I've been cooking for 7 years out of high school and have a solid resume with cooking but want to try the tech field while I'm still somewhat young ( I'm 25 ) .

My highschool grades are brutal because i didn't have a clue... now i'm 25 and wanna smack my dumb self. No Uni's will look at me.

Trios college SOUNDS good but there are SOO many bad reviews... I'm looking towards getting into networking or security, should I even bother with Trios?
Are there any real grads out there who have been successful through them?
I'm also considering Seneca or Centennial as they seem a bit better.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I really don't think cooking is for me.
22 replies
Deal Addict
May 22, 2005
2678 posts
183 upvotes
I personally wouldn't suggest TriOS, but this is simply an opinion based on reputation and hearsay.

Couple of routes you can take here:

- If your knowledge of computers is decent, you can do cheap/simple/fast certs like the CompTIA A+ to lend yourself some quick credibility to land a gig in an entry-level capacity like GeekSquad, Staples repair, etc.

- You can attempt to apply to a reputed/chartered post-secondary institution as a mature student. You'll have better luck with a college. If you're confident in your knowledge, see if the institution offers a prior learning assessment for credit towards program completion

- If possible, look for a part-time volunteer opportunity (eg. a church, non-profit) that would allow you to work with their computers