Art and Photography

Need help getting an off camera flash system setup.

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 24th, 2018 4:17 pm
Sep 27, 2009
777 posts
530 upvotes
Sask, Canada

Need help getting an off camera flash system setup.

So I impulse bought the neewer NW600BM strobe. I'll probably be returning it as it's most likely more than I need. I really want to take better people photos and want to set up ocf. I have a 7d mkii and a 580exii flash plus a pile of lenses. Currently selling a 5d mkii to fund this. I'm just an amateur and haven't taken many photos as of late.

I know I need some radio triggers and soft boxes. But I'm pretty lost on the radio triggers and would like some guidance. I like to save money but I don't want to buy garbage that won't work properly. This will be mostly for personal use with family and the odd other photo I get voluntold/volunteer for.

What gear should I be looking at and is the strobe I bought really overkill for home use?

Here's a photo I took to show I'm in the loop in terms of non flash related photography.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Images
  • 153A1519_FB_Sharp_WM_zps7bef624c.JPG
15 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jul 13, 2009
5241 posts
3520 upvotes
There's tons of tutorials and resources online, enough to make your head spin

When I had a studio setup i just started off with a few umbrellas (shoot through white, silver bounce), before investing in a nice softbox (elinchrom). The only difference between a nice brand name with china cheapos, is build quality. If you need to set up and take down faster for events, brand name is nice. Otherwise the cheap stuff works fine if this is just casual. Eventually I completely downgraded to just using 4 Yongnuo flashes and paired them up on stands, great for events which i did more of later on.

Backdrops, steam iron, backdrop stand, are also important later.

Most importantly, you need one patient test model!

Good stands are a must too!
Deal Addict
Oct 3, 2007
3181 posts
523 upvotes