Need Opinions/Suggestions on Fighting Speeding Ticket

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 14th, 2014 2:57 pm
[OP]
Nov 13, 2014
4 posts

Need Opinions/Suggestions on Fighting Speeding Ticket

Hello!
I've had my G2 for about a month now, kinda sucks cus I just got a speeding ticket last friday for going 145km/h on a 100km/h limit (401 towards Waterloo).
Since I'm pretty new to driving and new to Ontario, I'm guessing this ticket will be one price-y one.
I have insurance with Belair Direct (anyone have speeding experience with them?), and I'm just really scared of the insurance company as I've heard Belair is known to increase monthly rates like crazy!
I've been considering to fight this ticket, but at 45km/h over the speed limit, I'm not sure I can do anything that won't double my insurance premium.
I would normally ask my parents about this issue, but they don't live in Canada, and would probably get pretty pissed.
Please share your opinions/suggestions, they would be very helpful!
18 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 12, 2005
3300 posts
169 upvotes
Greater Toronto Area
Ah fight it and hope the insurance company doesnt know about it before the next renewal...
Deal Addict
Mar 7, 2007
2114 posts
407 upvotes
Fight it, get a reduction as much as possible, pay it, learn, move one.

Slow down... it is cheaper...
[OP]
Nov 13, 2014
4 posts
Thanks for your suggestions! I'm probably going to have to hire a traffic lawyer to help me with this, still a young kid. Any recommendations?
Deal Addict
Nov 2, 2011
2093 posts
786 upvotes
Another 5/km over the limit and you could have been fined for stunt driving and had your car impounded.
145km an hour? Way to drive! :facepalm:
Deal Fanatic
Dec 11, 2003
5728 posts
180 upvotes
Toronto
[QUOTE]145km an hour? Way to drive![/QUOTE]

Yeah eh! New driver doing 45 over, GREAT!

Anybody DOING 45 OVER :facepalm:
--------------------------------------------------------------

"Any more irrelevant comments to pull out of your ***** ?"