Tags:
None
Feb 18, 2015
5 posts
2 upvotes
Brampton, ON

Need some honest career advice

Hey guys,

I'm here very confused and not sure what to do.

I currently work at a public accounting firm. I have my business management diploma (2years) and currently doing my bCom part time. After graduating college 4 years ago. I worked at brinks in the accounting department for a year and half as an accounting clerk. I was pretty okay in accounting. I had the basic understanding of it but just lacked experience. After brinks, I got hired at my current job, the accounting firm where I've been working for almost 3 years. I was definitely inexperienced but I sold myself at the interview and showed lot of potential. I got hired as a bookkeeper. My pay was $45k. I started doing books for 5 clients. As I worked and gained more experienced, I learned a lot and now I manage over 15 clients. I do their regular books, but I also do other work In the firm. I perform notice to readers, review engagement, and audit engagements. Corporate tax and personal tax is also one of my biggest asset. My boss is a really good guy, he pretty much taught my everything and now I'm at a position where I advise client on the best tax planning move and matters related to their corporation.

My main problem? I earn very little money for what I do and what I know. I have more experience than a cma, cga mainly because I have public accounting experience. Most accountants who work at a private company don't evem know how to do corporate tax or even personal tax.. Mainly because they don't do it on a day to day basis. I am only making $50k now while other staff who has their ca/cpa designation earns around 80k doing the same work.