New to Canada, need help with job hunt

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 19th, 2019 2:36 pm
[OP]
Jan 12, 2019
8 posts
1 upvote

New to Canada, need help with job hunt

Hi everyone, I'm new to Canada. I come from Asia and English is not my 1st language. But I got my master degree (electrical) in the UK, therefore my language shall not be a big problem (i hope).
Since I had worked for multinational companies (top 50. electrical power industry) as a technical sales in my country for 7 years, i thought it won't be a big problem to find a job. But i am frustrated after 6 months later (arrived Ontario 2018.7). I do not expect to have a very good job here as in my own country, i apply jobs such as inside sales, outside technical sales, field service technicians and project coordinators. More than 300 applications from Indeed but I received less than 10 in person interviews with no offers. Also 5 or 6 telephone interviews with no further steps.
Recall that in the interview, no technical or complex questions were asked, but only simple questions like, are you eligible to work in Canada, what was your job before, explain your role and responsibility, etc. Honestly, I can definitely take those new jobs compared to what I have done before, but no employers select me.
The situation really hurts me, but life still continues. As a new comer, I am technically impossible to obtain the licensed electrician 442/309 etc. I am now preparing the OACETT CET, hopefully this would help.
Why it is so difficult to have a job. I hope someone could help and point out my problems. Thank you.
19 replies
Sep 11, 2017
69 posts
27 upvotes
Here are my suggestions

1. Tailor your resume for each job you apply. Sales, service, project coordinator are different roles you should have tailored resume for each.
2. Add recruiters to your LinkedIn. There are good number of recruiters that specialize with placing new comers. They can help provide feedback on resume and your interview style as well.