Automotive

New Car - Salesman gave me his cost price and "told me" to make an offer...what should i make him?

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 13th, 2018 9:26 pm
[OP]
Deal Addict
Oct 17, 2010
1279 posts
110 upvotes

New Car - Salesman gave me his cost price and "told me" to make an offer...what should i make him?

So this is my first time buying a car.

I am "attempting" to negotiate a price for a 2017 toyota limited highlander.

im trying to get prices from 3 toyota dealerships and emailing this one dude and he just throws me his cost prices and tells me to make an offfer.

he tells me his cost price is 48,222 dollars with taxes in. he has 3278 dollars of profit in the highlander. pic attached

he says he obviously cant sell me the highlander for cost price as he needs to make money.

since most of you guys have more experience buying cars, what would you guys say i should offer him?
Images
  • cost.jpg
73 replies
Deal Addict
Mar 24, 2012
2053 posts
762 upvotes
MARKHAM
Response with $500 over their invoice price.
Deal Addict
Jul 5, 2011
1048 posts
669 upvotes
Toronto
2017 Highlander Ltd has $4309 markup, so I might question the honesty of this fella already.

That worksheet you have there isn't for a 2017 Highlander Limited though... It's for a 2017 Highlander XLE & the total profit is $3778.00

At cost, the vehicle should be $53,794.22 for the Limited and $47,614.25 for the XLE.

Edit: Removed edit - 4.29% is the lowest she goes through the dealer.
Last edited by xjesterxx on Nov 4th, 2017 11:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
2013 Wins - $1320 - Woohoo!
[OP]
Deal Addict
Oct 17, 2010
1279 posts
110 upvotes
xjesterxx wrote:
Nov 4th, 2017 11:52 am
2017 Highlander Ltd has $4309 markup, so I might question the honesty of this fella already.

That worksheet you have there isn't for a 2017 Highlander Limited though... It's for a 2017 Highlander XLE & the total profit is $3778.00

At cost, the vehicle should be $53,794.22 for the Limited and $47,614.25 for the XLE.