• Mar 3rd, 2016 12:13 am
Tags:
[OP]
Aug 31, 2009
418 posts
202 upvotes
Toronto

new to cat litters, need suggestions

I recently adopted a cat from the humane society, im new to cats, just wondering whats the best brand for cat litter and not too expensive? thank you!!!
14 replies
Deal Addict
Aug 17, 2008
4100 posts
911 upvotes
Sask.
Congrats! We currently have two cats, and through the years with them and other cats, we've pretty much tried most of the litters out there.
Absolutely the best we have found is No Name Clumping Unscented litter - you can get 20kg bags for about $7 to 8. We get it at Real Canadian Wholesale, but other Loblaws stores should have it. There is some that comes in a jug, I don't know if it's exactly the same litter.

It clumps really well, so it's easily scoopable. Low dust, which is a bonus, and we find the cats don't track it out of the litter box.
No problems with stink either, since we scoop often and change it regularly.

Good luck with the kitteh! Pic and name?
Deal Addict
Jul 19, 2012
1837 posts
273 upvotes
Canada
any clumping and no scent litter would suffice.
make sure to scoop daily.
Aug 16, 2011
839 posts
246 upvotes
Kitchener
I really like odour buster, a bag is big enough for several weeks worth of litter changes, clumps super well, not very dusty.

Regardless of type (it's often trial and error to find what you and your cat like) I recommend using baking soda on the bottom of the pan to help with odour, as well I really like the litter locker 2 for holding scooped litter, the refills are expensive but if you keep the ring the refills come in you can just attach a garbage bag too it and use it that way.
Deal Guru
May 9, 2006
11278 posts
1886 upvotes
To help with odor, I sprinkle some baking soda when ever I change the cat litter.
Deal Addict
Nov 10, 2015
2243 posts
834 upvotes
Monte Creek, BC
I use Superstore litter also. It comes in a yellow box, 18 kg and has baking soda in it.