Careers

New Grad in Petroleum Engineer from UofA seeking for future

[OP]
Jul 24, 2017
2 posts

New Grad in Petroleum Engineer from UofA seeking for future

I am a new grad petroleum engineer from UofA last year, tried to find a job at oil gas industry for the last full year, but I failed:(
Now I am thinking of two ways, first one is stay positive and try my best to find jobs in oil gas industry, but I am not sure if I need to take any courses or get any license from SAIT or NAIT, and wondering what course should I go.
Another one is lots of my friends they went to financial or banking career, and mostly they get a job at least which are professional career with future. So i also applied some banking job, customer service representative for example. Got an referral opportunity and passed first 2 interviews but failed at the end. Now I am trying to get some licence like mutual funds and csc, I am not sure what else I should do if I truly hope to enter banking career.
Help me please
11 replies
Jan 12, 2010
127 posts
27 upvotes
Look outside of Canada, tough times calls for tough measures, look at US shale plays, UAE, Dubai and get yourself out there. Any RFDers who work in oil want to chime in?
There are lots of folks here who work in oil and gas.
I know FirstGear [a fellow RFDer...] is in Edmonton and can offer you some valuable tips on working the oil fields.
Last edited by UNOAIMX on Jul 25th, 2017 9:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Aug 15, 2016
7 posts
1 upvote