Careers

New grads - how did you get your first job?

• Last Updated:
  • Jun 27th, 2016 9:24 am
Tags:
None
Deal Addict
Feb 24, 2012
3086 posts
1101 upvotes
Toronto

New grads - how did you get your first job?

21 replies
Nov 19, 2011
305 posts
78 upvotes
Calgary
When I graduated a few years back found jobs off online Web site and the school job board, go interviews through both. I would check if your school posts industry jobs since those ones are probably looking for new grads or grad students which you fall into.
Deal Fanatic
Dec 6, 2006
5805 posts
1972 upvotes
Toronto
How about your previous employers during co-op? I hope you at least tried to maintain some sort of contacts? Also check back the job postings from your university career center.

Also... "sent several quality applications online for a few months now"... if "several" means just a few, you should start applying for more.
Jul 6, 2008
675 posts
193 upvotes
Toronto
What program? Can you code? My company is hiring a lot and we have a lot of corrupt Chinese money coming in. And yes, salary is legit. True story.
Deal Addict
Nov 8, 2013
1226 posts
230 upvotes
Mecca
Bobby66 wrote: What program? Can you code? My company is hiring a lot and we have a lot of corrupt Chinese money coming in. And yes, salary is legit. True story.
What programming languages do you guys use?
Deal Addict
May 18, 2015
1803 posts
851 upvotes
Ottawa,Ont
ashihtaka wrote: After completing my degree in engineering from Waterloo, it seems that there are little to no jobs for the new graduate available (engineering or not).
I've had over a year of industry experience, and a solid resume for a new graduate. I've tailored and sent several quality applications online for a few months now, but with very little success.
Have also attended several career fairs and networked to build relations with many people, but with no current leads.