Tags:
[OP]
Jun 23, 2012
43 posts
5 upvotes
Calgary

Non-registered account advice

Hi,

I'm in my early 30's and married. Both wife and I work in healthcare and are entitled to DB pensions. We will be in position to max our TFSA' as well as the RRSP accounts early next year. We own a home and pay >100% of required payments to pay off the mortgage early.

Now that our registered accounts are nearly maxed out, I'm curious as to what investments would be the best for a non-registered account. We could simply do a CCP but I wonder if a dividend strategy should be considered to minimize taxes. My current marginal tax rate is 41% and the projected DB payout at 58 (my factor 85 age) will be a marginal tax rate of 36%, not considering any other income source.

Alternatively, should other investments outside of stocks/bonds be considered?

Any advice is appreciated.
6 replies
Deal Addict
May 11, 2014
1656 posts
677 upvotes
Iqaluit, NT
Rhinox87 wrote:
Nov 6th, 2017 7:26 pm
Hi,

I'm in my early 30's and married. Both wife and I work in healthcare and are entitled to DB pensions. We will be in position to max our TFSA' as well as the RRSP accounts early next year. We own a home and pay >100% of required payments to pay off the mortgage early.

Now that our registered accounts are nearly maxed out, I'm curious as to what investments would be the best for a non-registered account. We could simply do a CCP but I wonder if a dividend strategy should be considered to minimize taxes. My current marginal tax rate is 41% and the projected DB payout at 58 (my factor 85 age) will be a marginal tax rate of 36%, not considering any other income source.

Alternatively, should other investments outside of stocks/bonds be considered?

Any advice is appreciated.