Not at fault car is deemed a total loss, need help got lowballed

• Last Updated:
  • Jun 15th, 2018 2:17 am
[OP]
Jun 13, 2018
5 posts

Not at fault car is deemed a total loss, need help got lowballed

Hey,

I was in a collision about a week ago and insurance just got back to me saying the car is a write off. They offered me $1000... They said they appraised it for $3000 and from there $500 deducted because its "rebuilt" (is this a thing) and $1500 for "high mileage". I will admit It has high mileage but that's on a new transmission with engine work done which is why it went to 400k km, it would have easily gotten over 600k and i was planning on riding it out till it died because its reliability was too hard to give up (I am a student). Also my vehicle was in excellent condition, brake lines done in April and new window regulator two weeks ago.

What are my options, online I can find the same vehicle that range from $5000-$3000, i just cant match the mileage. Also is the $500 for rebuilt a legit value they use when doing appraisals?
Last edited by zlaed85 on Jun 15th, 2018 10:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
15 replies
Deal Addict
Mar 24, 2012
2199 posts
838 upvotes
MARKHAM
show them proof of purchase on the new parts, maybe they can reimburse those.
Oct 5, 2009
997 posts
232 upvotes
Dartmouth
Yes it’s a fact that a car with a rebuilt title (meaning the car as previously in an accident bad enough to render it a total loss) will sell for less in the market.

Stop looking at cars like yours and start look8ng for cars for sale with 400 km plus on them and yo7 will see that the market value of cars with 400km is very low regardless of if they have a new engine or not.

Your policy entitles you to market value not replacement value and you’ll be hard pressed to find many cars that command a market value of 5 k with 400 km on them.

Having the brake lines done doesn’t add value to the car. Without good brake lines you can’t drive a car.
[OP]
Jun 13, 2018
5 posts