[OP]
Deal Expert
Jan 27, 2004
35840 posts
1998 upvotes
Toronto

[OFFICIAL] Cycling thread for commuters and the casual enthusiast

Hello!

I found the other cycling thread very roadie centric.
I'm making this thread dedicated to all the people who commute by bicycle and the casual enthusiast. Nothing wrong getting decked out in spandex and racing around in a $5000 bike... Its just a bit too intense for me. :lol:

I will be guiding the discussion of this thread. Enjoy!

ImageImage
ImageImage

So what type of bikes are you into? Do you commute, or do you just ride recreationally on trails?

Myself... I've been riding old steel road bikes for a few years now.... At first it was because I wanted to get into road cycling, but I could only afford really old bikes. Now I just like the charm of old vintage steel bikes. :cheesygri

I commute to work by bike, and i travel most places by bike since I live near the downtown Toronto core.

I've always wanted a dutch bike though. I think its better suited when I go out since I wear non-athletic clothing most of the time.

Useful Cycling Links
Bicycle map and routes for Major Canadian cities

http://www.royaldistributing.com good off season deals
1933 replies
Deal Addict
Sep 22, 2009
2740 posts
199 upvotes
Canadia
I strongly prefer the upright posture of steel city bikes. I don't care if it has gears or not. Biking is not fun if I have to be hunched over some mountain bike handle bars, or speed bike handle bars.

The best bikes I've owned have cost between $15 and $30. And a couple of decent ones cost me $0 because they were gifts from people moving away.

I think it's a shame that in Canada people seem to buy only mountain bikes or speed bikes. Hardly ever see city bikes or folding bikes even though I live in the city.