[OP]
Deal Guru
Apr 17, 2005
10771 posts
1256 upvotes
Brampton
Prestonxavier wrote:
May 1st, 2018 9:16 pm
Thank you patrob! Sorry two more questions, do you have experience or feedback of a hardwood company called Canadian Standard Flooring? Also, does anybody have recommendations on a contractor to refinish stairs?
No I'm sorry, I don't have any feedback or recommendation.
The OFFICIAL Hardwood Flooring Thread
Voted RFD "Most Helpful Thread of 2012"
234 posts
154 upvotes
Patrob,

For oil finished hardwood/engineered hardwood - do you need to apply oil right after installation, or do normally hardwood comes pre-finished and you just need to re-apply oil every few years?

TIA.
Jan 2, 2018
6 posts
I am looking to refinish about 1300 sqft of hardwood flooring in my house plus a staircase. I am getting quotes of around $6500 to $7000 to sand, stain, polish etc. Should I just go for a new floor (laminate/engineered) or go for staining, I have no experience and I am a bit worried that staining won't get me the results I'm looking for

Any advice or recommendations? Will highly appreciate help

Here is my current floor and an example of the result that I'm looking for
Current Floor: https://imgur.com/a/aFDhO4b
Needed Result (approx): https://imgur.com/a/Zt12MNQ

@Patrob, would really appreciate your advice too.
Apr 19, 2018
25 posts
1 upvote
eiskafee wrote:
May 3rd, 2018 11:44 am
I am looking to refinish about 1300 sqft of hardwood flooring in my house plus a staircase. I am getting quotes of around $6500 to $7000 to sand, stain, polish etc. Should I just go for a new floor (laminate/engineered) or go for staining, I have no experience and I am a bit worried that staining won't get me the results I'm looking for

I was in the same boat and found that the dust and gamble of potentially not liking the finished product when restaining floors isn't worth it when you compare the cost. I would just replace the floors. Make sure you have them screw the subfloor into the joists!