Art and Photography

Official RFD Photography FAQ

  • Last Updated:
  • Dec 20th, 2014 1:30 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
User avatar
Oct 26, 2003
7014 posts
70 upvotes
Nepean

Official RFD Photography FAQ

Product Reviews

Pixel-Peeper - Basically let's you view a lens from different body from different people: http://www.pixel-peeper.com/

Photozone - [rfdlink=38]Canon[/rfdlink], Nikon and other lens reviews: http://www.photozone.de/8Reviews/index.html

DPReview - Camera, lens and accessory reviews: http://dpreview.com/

Fred Miranda - Camera, lens and accessory reviews: http://www.fredmiranda.com/reviews/

Imaging Resource - Camera, lens and accessory reviews: http://www.imaging-resource.com/

DCResource - Camera, lens and accessory reviews: http://www.dcresource.com/

The Luminous Landscape - Reviews and information: http://www.luminous-landscape.com/

KenRockWell - Camera, Lens, and Accessory reviews (bias but amusing): http://www.kenrockwell.com/

Camera Labs - Camera, Lens, group test: http://www.cameralabs.com/

Photo.net - Camera, Lens, Accessory, Store, Community: http://photo.net/


Online Reseller (Reputable Canadian)

Price Comparison - http://www.photoprice.ca/

Henrys - http://www.henrys.ca (Various Location)

Vistek - http://www.vistek.ca (GTA/Calgary Store front)

Simon's Camera - http://www.simonscameras.com/ (Montreal Store front)

McBain Camera - http://www.mcbaincamera.com/ (Edmonton Store front)

Galaxy Camera - http://www.galaxycamera.com/ (Ottawa Store front)

DVshop - http://www.dvshop.ca/ (GTA Store front)

Downtown Camera - http://www.downtowncamera.com/ (GTA Store front)

Merkle Camera - http://www.merklecamera.com/ (GTA Store front)

Aden Camera - http://www.adencamera.com/ (GTA Store front)

Camera Canada - http://cameracanada.com/ (London Store front)

Lens Lender - http://www.lenslenders.com/ (Not a reseller)

Broadway Camera - http://www.bccamera.com/ (Vancouver Store front)

Don's Photo - http://www.donsphoto.com/

The Camera Store - http://www.thecamerastore.com/


Online Reseller (US)

BH Photo/Video - New York: http://www.bhphotovideo.com/

Adorama - New York: http://www.adorama.com/

KEH - Georgia: http://www.keh.com

Ritz Camera - National: http://www.ritzcamera.com/

One Call - Spokane, Washington: http://www.onecall.com/

PopFlash Photo - http://www.popflash.com/

Calumet Photographic - http://www.calumetphoto.com/


Photography Clubs

Toronto Photography Meet-Up Group - http://www.tpmg.ca/

Toronto Urban Exploration Group - http://urbanexplor.meetup.com/12/?gj=sj5

Toronto RFD Flickr Group - http://www.flickr.com/groups/torontorfd/

*NEW*Photography On The Net - http://www.photography-on-the.net/


Shooting Techniques/Tricks

General - http://www.canon.com.au/eos/tips/ or [urlhttp://web.canon.jp/imaging/enjoydslr/[/url] (not limited to [rfdlink=38]Canon[/rfdlink] users)

Flash/Lightening - http://www.strobist.blogspot.com/

Cheap DIY Lightbox - http://photography-on-the.net/forum/sho ... p?t=281524

Cheap DIY Bounce Card - http://www.abetterbouncecard.com/

Cheap DIY Ring Flash - http://www.motleypixel.com/forum/index. ... ,80.0.html

RAW vs. JPG - http://www.luminous-landscape.com/revie ... _jpg.shtml (RFD discussion http://www.redflagdeals.com/forums/show ... p?t=536536)

Understanding Histograms - http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutor ... rams.shtml

A Tedious Explanation of the f/stop - http://www.uscoles.com/fstop.htm

Exposure/Manual Light Meter - http://www.uscoles.com/exposures.pdf

Photography tips and techniques: articles and guides - http://photo.net/learn/

Canon 50D/XSi Guide and FAQ - http://www.learnslr.com/

Confessions of a Photographer: Awesome portrait and commercial photographer - http://www.squeezethelime.com/workshops/

Squeeze The Lime: More videos and tutorials on portrait/commercial photography - http://www.bertstephani.com/blog/


Post Processing

HDR using CS2 - http://backingwinds.blogspot.com/2006/1 ... mages.html

Photoshop Tricks - http://www.photoshopessentials.com/photo-effects/

TiltShift Via Photoshop - http://www.tiltshiftphotography.net/pho ... torial.php


Magazines/Recommanded Reading

DSLR Photography - http://www.digitalslrphoto.com/

Tripods and ball Heads by Thom Hogan - http://www.bythom.com/support.htm


Handy Freeware Software/Utility

GIMP - Similar to Photoshop but it's Open Source: http://www.gimp.org/

FireFox Extension - EXIF reader: http://ted.mielczarek.org/code/mozilla/fxif/

Noiseware Community Edition - Free Noise Reduction: http://imagenomic.com/products.aspx

Online Version of Photoshop - https://www.photoshop.com/express/landing.html


Online Photo Album Free/Paid

Google Picasa - http://picasaweb.google.ca/ (free 1GB)

Flickr - http://www.flickr.com/ (free limit?)

PBase - http://www.pbase.com/

Smug Mug - http://www.smugmug.com/

Zen Folio - http://www.zenfolio.com/

Deviant Art - http://www.deviantart.com - Not limited to photography, but any art.

500px - http://500px.com/ - Photographic Portfolio

Please post more links that may help everyone. I'm probably missing a lot of good links other people will have. I will need lots of help in finding good reputable resellers in the other provinces and cities
92 replies
Deal Fanatic
User avatar
Jun 8, 2001
5973 posts
30 upvotes
Ottawa
very cool - we should add to this list on photography tips on shooting, and perhaps photoshop tricks...
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
User avatar
Oct 26, 2003
7014 posts
70 upvotes
Nepean
skanji wrote:
Sep 27th, 2007 9:56 am
very cool - we should add to this list on photography tips on shooting, and perhaps photoshop tricks...
I have a couple links at home but can't think on top of my head. One thing I'm trying to find was the video of an old guy showing you how to make a cheap white card/diffuser for your external flash which I thought it was pretty cool.
Sr. Member
Mar 2, 2005
999 posts
2 upvotes
http://www.strobist.blogspot.com/

i have a huge list of photoshop links that i got from another forum, will post when i get home

EDIT: Here's the list, I honestly havent been to all of them a quarter of them, i pulled this from another forum where a member was asking for photoshop tutorials and this other guy just popped all of these on there, so i figured at least a few of them may be useful. If they're useless, my appologies. meanwhile..here's the list

Click here to download the text file with all the links
Flickr

Toronto lifestyle wedding photography
Deal Addict
User avatar
Oct 30, 2003
1259 posts
11 upvotes
London
I've dealt with CanadaCamera.com, they have very good pricing and good delivery. I picked up a 70-200 F4L IS for $1320 and Henrys has it for $1499 and Vistek $1349. The even tossed in a free circular polarizer. They also have a bricks and mortar store in London, On.


http://cameracanada.com/
"Live simply, so that others may simply live."
Sr. Member
Sep 14, 2003
603 posts
200 upvotes
Toronto
http://www.onecall.com in Spokane, Washington


I've bought some Canon L lenses from them, they are an authorized Canon dealer and very fast at shipping. They will take a Canadian credit card and ship to a US address (provided you call Mastercard and put that address on your file)
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
User avatar
Oct 26, 2003
7014 posts
70 upvotes
Nepean
Thanks all I've updated the links again :)

Lots of great links. I'm sure lots you have some nice post-process tutorial for newcomers :)
Deal Guru
User avatar
Dec 3, 2004
10943 posts
412 upvotes
Markham/Mississauga
Magazines too.

I recommend DSLR Photography, its a magazine based out of the UK. It has professionals as editors and contributors to the magazine for techniques, I buy each and every issue that comes out. Chapters carry these, I usually grab a cafe mocha, sit back and read it.. :lol:
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
User avatar
Oct 26, 2003
7014 posts
70 upvotes
Nepean
CSAgent wrote:
Oct 2nd, 2007 2:05 am
Magazines too.

I recommend DSLR Photography, its a magazine based out of the UK. It has professionals as editors and contributors to the magazine for techniques, I buy each and every issue that comes out. Chapters carry these, I usually grab a cafe mocha, sit back and read it.. :lol:
Updated the post with new topics

Top