• Mar 18th, 2011 10:40 am
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Nov 28, 2005
6044 posts
16 upvotes
Toronto

Okay, Let's Talk About DOMAIN NAMES

I guess it's time to start a dedicated thread about domain names, be it CNO (.com, .net, .org) or .CA. A quick search shows that there are at least a few dozen posts on this topic (with the word "domain") in this month alone; but very often, people are getting conflicting or even misleading information, which could well affect their critical business decision.

Since I have been registering domain names since 1997 (no, not earlier), and have helped brokered quite a few high-profiled domains like megacity.com and HKG.NET (and even one for Derek/Clear Sky Media), it may be a good idea to at least offer a room for people to ask and share. Yes, there are more professional forums for domain names (which I either frequent or help moderate), but for industry *outsiders* (who mostly have a couple of domains at the most), perhaps RFD is a better and cozier place to chat.

Now a bit of disclaimer. Even though I am an authorized Tucows reseller, I do NOT provide domain registration service for the public, but mostly use that account for MY OWN domain names, and to a lesser extent those of my clients who also have other contracts with me.

EDIT: While I'm flattered that so many fellow RFDers actually PM me for questions and ask for my opinion, I would rather prefer everyone to just post in this thread, so more people could learn and benefit from it, and more importantly so others (not just me) would be able to help by sharing their experience as well.
239 replies
Jun 16, 2007
147 posts
Mississauga, Ontario
The good names are pretty much taken, so I guess the current after-market is all about buying low, selling high, amirite?
Deal Addict
Aug 19, 2006
4845 posts
139 upvotes
I don't get it... so you want us to talk about it, but you're not going to help us get it?

boo, I want to get a domain.
Deal Fanatic
Dec 11, 2006
5141 posts
55 upvotes
Richmond bc