Art and Photography

Olympus E-PL1 Good? Originally: Help! What Camera from USA? DSLR or Compact?

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 13th, 2012 10:45 am
Tags:
None
[OP]
Deal Guru
Mar 1, 2008
12783 posts
2236 upvotes
Toronto, Ontario

Olympus E-PL1 Good? Originally: Help! What Camera from USA? DSLR or Compact?

Tax free weekend here in Boston and I'm looking to buy a new camera. There are so many options I don't even know what to choose from. First a background of me and camera usage. We use the camera to take general photos (using Panasonic FX 50) and well it's showing its age. I don't know much about cameras at all but I do know well enough that a good lens and stuff is important. I have a budget of say $700 but obviously less is better, especially considering I'm new to taking photos with DSLR. We don't use our camera much btw... Maybe a dozen times a year excluding vacation trips.

Right now Best Buy has the Canon T3i with 18-55 lens for $700 and the Nikon D3100 for $500. Reading the conclusion of both cameras on DPReview, they both seen to be excellent.... Both showing it's age as well though. It does seem that the D3100 is good for beginners though.

Then I also read that compact system cameras are very good as well and saw that the Canon SX260 is available for roughly $300 too. At this point I don't know what to do... Any help is greatly appreciated.

Edit: Ended up buying the Olympus E-PL1 for $275. Good deal?! See latest post
8 replies
Deal Guru
Jan 27, 2006
10674 posts
4233 upvotes
Vancouver, BC
First check if you are going to get a good deal from buying in the US... http://www.photoprice.ca <- compares Canadian retailers withe the US counterparts. You might be surprised at the price difference (or the lack of one)...