None
Deal Addict
Feb 22, 2007
2268 posts
373 upvotes
Toronto

Online Shop

Good morning,

I will be starting an online shop soon. I'll be selling little novelty items.

My question is what is the best way of accepting money online? I will be selling worldwide. I've researched a bit and understand there is PayPal, Email Money Transfer (only within Canada) and also services such as Shopify. Will Shopify allow me to upload my own website that I built and use their E-commerce services?

I heard horrible stories when it came to PayPal...they can hold your money for as long as they want without giving you a reason and all the other scams going on with Paypal.

Also I personally do not have a credit card, would I be able to use a pre-paid credit card to pay for hosting my website?
36 replies
Jul 10, 2005
763 posts
123 upvotes
Toronto
I've been receiving $$ with paypal for 10 years. Never had an issue.
But you also need to get a card processor to accept visa & mc.
Deal Addict
Feb 22, 2007
2268 posts
373 upvotes
Toronto
Thanks Dani and Andex

Dani: Do you have a personal account or merchant account?
Jul 10, 2005
763 posts
123 upvotes
Toronto
realg123 wrote: Do you have a personal account or merchant account?
Merchant, and last year they called me to offer a Payflow account to process cards through them with very competitive rates.
Deal Addict
Feb 22, 2007
2268 posts
373 upvotes
Toronto
dani_toronto wrote: Merchant, and last year they called me to offer a Payflow account to process cards through them with very competitive rates.
Thanks for the quick response.

Do you use your work address or home address? Does it matter what address you put down?
Thanks
Jul 10, 2005
763 posts
123 upvotes
Toronto
realg123 wrote: Do you use your work address or home address? Does it matter what address you put down?
Thanks
It doesn't matter at all. They'll never mail you anything. You can put a PO box if you want to keep your home address private.
Deal Addict
Feb 22, 2007
2268 posts
373 upvotes