Careers

Only High School Diploma - Am I ******?

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 19th, 2017 2:59 am
Dec 20, 2016
41 posts
21 upvotes

Only High School Diploma - Am I ******?

Hey guys, currently an almost 21 year old guy currently out of school. I have some work experience under my belt, mostly in the culinary industry, but I think getting into that was a mistake that I predicted long beforehand but still got into it. I have a few years of work experience, and good references that can back me up. I excel while I am working with my hands on the job. I have tried college, but I absolutely hate school. I have dropped out of three different programs.

I only have my high school diploma and I guess my culinary college diploma. Am I ******? I'm currently looking at a career in the Air Force because the civilian world in trades seems not to be "in demand" as I've always kept hearing -- I've tried applying to various things but of course nothing has happened. I honestly don't really care too much about what I'm doing as a career, as long as it pays fine. However I'm eager to learn on the job, this is where I excel; it's really disheartening to be a great and dependable employee yet be judged on a piece of paper. I took a lot of arts in high school, so I don't have a lot of the math and physics some unions might require. I planned on getting into the film industry but seeing the life people have to go through to get by made me change my mind and want me to get something more stable.

Are there are trades I should be looking at? Should I be cold calling businesses more often? Or should I go the military route? I've honestly got nothing to lose at this point.
Last edited by Mars2012 on Mar 15th, 2017 11:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: bypassing swear filter
33 replies
Mar 14, 2017
41 posts
10 upvotes
No you're not "****".

A) you live in Canada, trust me that is already a great advantage than the rest of the world.

B) 1. The internet and e-commerce has lots of money in it.