Only High School Diploma - Am I ******?

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 19th, 2017 2:59 am
Deal Fanatic
Jun 11, 2001
7748 posts
346 upvotes
No you're not f**ked.

Just apply yourself to something you enjoy and research it has a "future", network, don't shy away from "lower" level work. You can work you way up (many will say you can't, but you still can). Don't be afraid to fail.

Both my brother and I both have just HS diplomas pretty much were in the same spot as you when we were younger. We hated school pretty much, only went for sports. We both tried college a bit, dropped out after barely 1 yr. Entered the workforce, and we're both doing fine.

He works in the manufacturing area, and I work in IT support in the financial sector. We both make comfortable enough salaries and low stress jobs.

What i mean about not shunning low level, low pay work... both my brother and I started our "career" at just about $10-12/hr. HS diploma + barely above minimum wage, and over twenty yrs old... seems bleak right? For both of us, the raises came as with promotions... and we're both pretty comfortable where we are now. (I personally would refuse more pay + responsibility now, and have... free time is just more important these days).
...zzz...zzz...zzz...

www.heatware.com
[OP]
Dec 20, 2016
9 posts
GRANDISON wrote:
Mar 16th, 2017 11:56 pm
I found the military to contain a majority of people who used it as a last resort, so take that for what its worth. I used it as a means to make quick cash and high tailed it when I was asked to put my life on the line in Afghanistan. You might call it dishonorable but I've seen the people that come back from war first hand. It truly changes people. And not in a good way. That PTSD thing they talk about, it's no joke.

Same thing would go for law enforcement or paramedical or firefighting. Some of the things you see are traumatizing. So take that into consideration before you sign up.