• Mar 8th, 2018 10:04 am
Deal Addict
Dec 27, 2009
4951 posts
2311 upvotes
Ottawa, ON
jeff1970 wrote:
Jan 8th, 2018 6:08 pm
Boils down to what kind of service you want and what kind of people you want serving you. We don't pay minimum wage people well (though it's better in Ontario now). You take away the tips, you'll find you're getting different staff. Whether you realize it or not, having a server that looks like they take care of themselves, is personable, is efficient and attentive, is specialized. You're not going to have those peoples if every decides not to tip. At which time, the server is going to look the same as the back-end guy at McDonald's.

As for Australia, over $17/hour minimum wage, and the staff you get for that will match that.
Service here in Canada is bad anyways. It has been years since good service at restaurants was the norm. I worked in the industry 25-30 years ago and service given back then was so much better than what one typically gets now (and back then, 10% was considered a good tip). The whole tipping thing is really out of hand IMO.

To reiterate - service workers here in Canada have gone down hill immensely in the past couple of decades, yet they expect big tips. If you want to find good service, go to the States. I realize they TRULY have to depend on their tips down there (unlike here), but the service is MILES better and I will happily tip well (I also tip here, but I'm not getting anywhere near the quality of service that I am tipping for here in Canada - or it is the exception and not the rule anymore).
Deal Addict
Sep 7, 2004
3610 posts
605 upvotes
GTEH!
Minimum wage has NO impact on how I tip. I tip based on Service, always. Good service, good tip. Bad service, minimal to no tip.
😎
Deal Addict
Dec 27, 2009
4951 posts
2311 upvotes
Ottawa, ON