• Dec 15th, 2018 2:42 pm
[OP]
Mar 13, 2012
38 posts
2 upvotes
Toronto

OPG Nuclear Operator In Training

Hi folks,

I'm a new grad engineer with 1 year of work experience. I had an interview for a Nuclear Operator in Training (NOIT) at OPG this January. I flew in from Northern Ontario and they had me write their aptitude test in the morning and since I passed that, they interviewed me in the afternoon. They told me that if I get an email asking me to fill out security clearance forms, that is my hint that they will be extending me an offer (I think late March/early April is when they are supposed to go out). 3 weeks after the interview I get an email to fill out my security clearance documents for my background check.

I'm just wondering if there are any Nuclear Operators here and if they can tell me what type of career paths I could expect. They basically told me you either go from NOIT to Nuclear Operator to SNO/Authorized Nuclear Operator or NOIT to Nuclear Operator to Shift Supervisor. Is there any way I could later, say in 10 years, move to an engineering role? Or could I become a commissioning coordinator for the last Darlington unit to be refurbished in 6 yearsish from now. Anything else I should know about the role? Also, how stable/secure is the job? I mean, what are the odds that the gubment will mothball all OPG nuclear power plants and I'll be out of a job in 5 years?

Thanks!
563 replies
[OP]
Mar 13, 2012
38 posts
2 upvotes
Toronto
Thanks for the vote of confidence. I know that jobs like this work on a pay scale so I'm not even going to try to negotiate anything, I'm fortunate enough to simply have the offer. Plus, I get to move back to my home town so I've got that going for me, which is nice, really nice.

They said they got 3,000 applications for this round of hiring and they tested 500 people and interviewed 200-300 of them for 34 openings.
Mar 5, 2014
2 posts