• Jul 9th, 2015 9:44 pm
Tags:
None
May 20, 2015
132 posts
49 upvotes
Toronto, ON

Opinion on Financing Car when buying first house

I am going to be getting a mortgage soon in December for a new first house I purchased.

I also need a car soon, but I am not sure if its a good idea to finance a car under my name in this busy time with a mortgage. I am worried it might cause issues with getting a mortgage as this is my first time and I am young (24yrs old). My credit is fairly good though.

Should I just stick to a cheap car that I can pay in cash for like $3000 ?

If I were to finance a car, I was thinking something within $20000 at 0%

What are your thoughts on this.

Thanks
23 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 19, 2007
1711 posts
334 upvotes
Toronto
Buying a house in Toronto AND thinking of financing a new car? All at 24 years of age? Hmmmm, probably not a wise decision but...

Are you living on your own? Is this the first time managing yourself out of your parents house? Does your income support it? Do you have any other debts? Are you getting the traditional parental subsidy that you're entitled to?

I have so many questions...
Deal Fanatic
Apr 16, 2007
8134 posts
3485 upvotes
Financial District B…
The monthly service commitment of the auto loan will factor into your TDSR/GDSR when the time comes to apply for that mortgage.
Best to do so after mortgage.
----------------------------Licensed Credit Bureau member, S1, FI Automotive, CCP forums most banned = x 13 and counting, guess who that is?... stomped to the curb once again
Deal Addict
Jul 11, 2010
1294 posts
329 upvotes
Toronto
Generally it is not a good idea to take on any additional debt before you are approved for a mortgage and also until the mortgage closes. The payments will be counted as part of your GDS and TDS ratios. Depending on your income and any other debts this may or may not affect your application.