Students

Osap tips/advice/questions

Mar 17, 2012
104 posts
8 upvotes
Eastern Ontario
My osap finally came tonight! Because I am a mature student I don't get the 30% off tuition....that is disappointing!
Aug 31, 2011
227 posts
17 upvotes
NORTH YORK
anyone know what the "ontario special bursary" is? do you have to be eligible for osap to get this or can anyone get it?
Jul 31, 2012
137 posts
35 upvotes
OTTAWA
durantula wrote: anyone know what the "ontario special bursary" is? do you have to be eligible for osap to get this or can anyone get it?
Ontario Special Bursary is no longer funded by the government. Most schools are offering a special bursary program to replace it - check with your financial aid office. This is usually for people studying part time and may be used for a diploma/degree or upgrading/esl depending on your school. If you are on OSAP you can't have special bursary.
Jul 31, 2012
137 posts
35 upvotes
OTTAWA
duyle1337 wrote: sigh i don't understand, i haven't gotten any extra money from osap, everyone else i knew got a couple 100-300 extra for textbook which i badly need. I thought Canada Student Grant for Persons from Low-Income Families is directly desposited into your bank??, instead all 1500 went to my school for tuition ! and getting 200 on the 20th, and 10th of oct 350..
Loans and Canada Student Grants can go to your school for tuition....Ontario Grants must go to your bank account only. But whats the difference, if it went to your account and you owe tuition, you would just have to pay it out anyway
Aug 7, 2012
185 posts
2 upvotes
York
does osap pay off your fall and winter tuition automatically? or just deposit fall funding now in bank account?

still haven't received btw. sept 7th funding date and still nothing,
Aug 12, 2012
105 posts
3 upvotes
SCARBOROUGH
yeeson wrote: does osap pay off your fall and winter tuition automatically? or just deposit fall funding now in bank account?